Amidst the peaceful Flint Hills of Kansas stands the Historic Elgin Hotel, the region’s finest fully-renovated boutique hotel. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Elgin’s 19th century limestone building provides a unique venue to rest, relax and reconnect in an atmosphere that blends the nostalgia of the past with the luxuries of today.
Five living rooms, an outdoor veranda, a fitness center and a game lounge complement twelve unique suites to create an exceptional getaway. A full-service restaurant and bar, private en-suite bathrooms, jacuzzis, and Smart TVs as well as complimentary Wifi, in-room refrigerators, docking stations, and plush robes and slippers make a stay at the Elgin a remarkable and unforgettable experience for its guests.
The elegant Victorian ballroom, conference room and courtyard are available for weddings, celebrations, baby showers, retreats, meetings and gatherings of 75 or less.
Located just 50 miles northeast of Wichita, Kansas and 150 miles from Kansas City, the Elgin Hotel sits in the quaint and quiet historical community of Marion, Kansas. A visit to the Elgin Hotel provides a great getaway from the hustle and bustle of the city and a reprieve from the busyness of life. Guests are able to rest, relax and reconnect with loved ones during their stay at the 1886 historic hotel, as well as enjoy the majesty of the Flint Hills, the intrigue of historical sites such as the Santa Fe Trail, and the adventure of Marion County Lake and Marion Reservoir. The Historic Elgin Hotel is the perfect destination for romantic getaways, family reunions, weddings, and other special occasions and celebrations. With an elegant Victorian ballroom, a conference room, a small library, an outside courtyard, and twelve unique suites, the hotel is sure to have a space for you to enjoy.
Despite the advantage of Marion’s two railroad lines, the community seemed to have trouble attracting a truly ambitious hotel enterprise, so interested citizens were forced to resort to offering a substantial financial incentive to prospective developers. Thus, on July 10, 1885, the Marion Record reported that the local real estate firm of Case and Billings would award $1,000, to which the citizens of Marion would add $2,500, to any “outsider” who would erect “a great hotel building” in Marion.
When no outsider immediately leaped at their proposition, Case and Billings, along with many citizens in the town took matters into their own hands and in late July formed a hotel company. 160 shares of capital stock were sold at $100 each to finance the project. By August, 1885, the company had commissioned an architect “in the eastern part of the state” to draw up plans and specifications for a three-story stone structure.
Built to stimulate an economic boom, the hotel was a symbol of the town’s aspirations more than an index of its actual achievements. Enthusiastic newspaper accounts accompanied the hotel ‘s construction. Just as work on the hotel was getting underway in late August, 1885, one reporter stated that the Elgin would be a “monster three story stone hotel” executed in “the most elaborate style of modern architecture” with ” first class” interior appointments. It would be “a monument to Marion’s glory and a common pride to citizens and its enterprising builders. This will be the finest hotel west of Topeka.”
The hotel was completed by September 1886 and the final price tag was $25,000. W.W. Case and his brother L.L. Case, relatives of A.E. Case who was one of the hotel’s chief promoters, were brought into town to run the hotel.
Over the years, the Elgin changed hands a number of times yet continued to operate as the principal hotel for the region. During the oil boom of the 1950s, the hotel was the gathering place for drilling promoters and lease agents.
In 1956, Richard A. “Dick” Lundgren purchased the hotel. Lundgren also served as the Marion City Clerk. Due to his involvement in the community, it allowed the Elgin to serve as headquarters of the Marion Centennial Committee in 1961.
Unfortunately, after ten years under Lundgren’s ownership, the Elgin fell into disrepair and Dick thought it was time to move on. He accepted a position as administrator of a nursing home in Eskridge and the Elgin was closed in 1967.
Following this closure, the Elgin became home to the unwanted; birds, insects and rodents took over. The Elgin fell into such disrepair that there was talk of tearing the once magnificent structure down.
In 1974, the building was purchased for $3,000 by Alfred Murnahan, the Rev. Reg Larson, and Tommy Wolfe of Emporia. The plan was to demolish it and reuse the stone to build a new sanctuary for the First Assembly of God. However, funds fell through a week prior to demolition and the structure remained empty until 1976 when it was purchased by Van Anderson.
After spending $400,000 to renovate the property, Van Anderson reopened the Elgin as an apartment house rather than a hotel in 1977. The year following, the Elgin House Apartments was listed on the National Register of Historic Places on September 13, 1978. It is interesting to note that, like the construction of the hotel, the renovation of the Elgin in the 1970’s also relied to a large extent on capital generated by investments made by local citizens.
The Elgin remained an apartment house for almost 30 years before it was sold yet again. Jim and Nancy Cloutier of Hillsboro purchased the building in 2006 and began plans to renovate the property. The Cloutiers invested $1.9 million and an immense amount of sweat equity into restoring the Elgin to its former glory. These changes took several years to complete but was well worth it when the Elgin reopened once again in 2009. The 3rd floor was developed into a private residential penthouse where the Cloutiers lived. Sherry Soyez was hired soon after to run the newly finished 8 room bed and breakfast located on the 2nd floor. The facility was complemented with a ballroom, conference room, and foyer on the 1st floor. Although the interior was new, much care was given to restoring the interior to what it might have looked like in the late 1800s.
After calling the Elgin “home” for 7 years, the Cloutiers decided to retire and move to a residence in Marion in 2016.
In July 2016, current owners Jeremy and Tammy Ensey purchased the property. While the Enseys continued to operate the 2nd floor as a bed and breakfast, the 3rd floor was renovated to include an additional four guest suites with private, en-suite bathrooms. The residential kitchen was converted to a commercial kitchen where hotel guests were served breakfast. Many furnishings were replaced with fresh antiques and replicas, and all 12 suites were remodeled and themed to a person or place in the region. The Enseys also added a fitness center and business center on the 2nd floor, as well as a library for social gatherings on the 3rd floor. What was once a changing room in a separate limestone building behind the 1886 hotel, was renovated into a game lounge complete with billiards, a poker table, ping pong, air hockey and leather sofas for lounging. This lounge is used by hotel guests, groomsmen on their wedding day, or can be rented by outside parties. The official opening of all three floors of the hotel was celebrated near the Elgin’s 130th birthday in September of 2016.
After building a successful tourism business, the Enseys with the assistance of project manager Andy Hansen and the crew of Rock Construction from Wichita, Kansas completed renovations of the northwest portion of the 1st floor. A full commercial kitchen was added, as well as a dining room that holds up to 40 people, a private dining room for 8, and an outdoor patio for 24. The newly renovated space boasts a full service bar with a vintage barbershop backbar that was moved from Stone City Restaurant on Main Street in Marion. A late 1800s piano that was completely refurbished by Glenda Schmidt of McPherson is also showcased in the space. Upon completion of the renovation in September 2019, the Elgin celebrated the opening of Parlour 1886, named for its birth year and the double parlor that was written about at its erection. The full service restaurant serves elevated comfort food in an atmosphere that exudes the elegance of the 19th century. Parlour 1886 currently serves dinner to guests on Thursday, Friday and Saturday evening, as well as breakfast on Saturday and Sunday mornings.
While the windows and the limestone building itself are the only original attributes that remain from the Elgin’s past, the many memories of the years past also linger with Marion residents. Today the hotel serves guests from around the world coming to enjoy the Flint Hills of Kansas, the many adventures that can be had in the region, and the rich history and heritage of this community. The Elgin is a place where guests can rest, relax and reconnect. Guests are greeted and served by the friendly hotel staff, as well as the owners themselves.
The Elgin Hotel continues to awe and inspire its guests and creates the perfect ambiance for appreciating the nostalgia of the past while enjoying the luxuries of today. Just as the Historic Elgin Hotel has been an unforgettable part of Marion’s history, it continues to deliver an unforgettable experience to its guests like it did in the 1800s.
Be the First to Hear About Promotions & Events
Enter your email to receive our newsletter, so you can stay in the loop with our latest specials and packages.